Awards Letter




Superintendent Dr. Janice Evans

Illinois youth Center - St. Charles

Deputy John Shallenberger

John Shallenberger

Tazewell County Sheriff's Office

Community Service Coordinator Mia Carter

Matteson Police Department


Detective Jamie Marabillas

Jamie Marabillas

Elgin Police Department

Detective Katie Gollogly

Katie Gollogly

Oak Lawn Police Department

School Resource Officer Alejandro Carbajal

Rantoul Police Department


The Illinois Juvenile Officers Association will be accepting nominations for the Juvenile Officer of the Year Award and the Distinguished Service Award. The awards will be presented at the annual I.J.O.A and I.D.O.A. Conference in East Peoria, Illinois in June of 2021. The award recipients are strongly encouraged to be present to receive the award. Each of the award recipients will have their conference registration fee waived for the 2021 annual I.J.O.A. and I.D.O.A. Conference.

Juvenile Officer of the Year

The Juvenile Officer of the Year Award will be presented to an individual who has made significant contributions and dedicated service to juveniles within their agencies, local community, and to the law enforcement profession within the recent year.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award will be presented to an individual whom has made significant contributions and dedicated service to juveniles within their agencies, local community, and to the law enforcement profession during their career.

The Juvenile Officer of the Year Award and the Distinguished Service Award are great ways to honor hard working individuals and to build respect and trust for our profession among members within the local communities. Don’t miss this opportunity to recognize the valuable contributions made by those among us.

Award nominations must be submitted no later than April 30, 2023. Nominations must adhere to the criteria outlined in the 2021 I.J.O.A. Award Nomination form. All nominations will be reviewed by the Illinois Juvenile Officers Association Awards Committee.



2022 Distinguished Service Award

  • Officer Michael Bennett - Clinton Police Department
  • Officer Christy Frugé - Lincoln Police Department

2022 Juvenile Officer of the Year

  • Deputy Chief Sarah Kinkin - Spring Valley Police Department
  • Detective Ryan Myers - Joliet Police Department

2021 Juvenile Officers of the Year

  • Officer Erica Roa - Charleston Police Department
  • Officer James Durham - Joliet Police Department
  • Officer Antoine Edwards - Joliet Junior College Police Department

2021 Distinguished Service Award

  • Detective Paul VanDorn - Geneva Police Department
  • Investigator Raymond Violetta - Tinley Park Police Department
  • Detective Jack Metcalf - Gurnee Police Department

2020 Juvenile Officers of the Year

  • Detective Herold Rollins - North Chicago Police Department
  • Juvenile Justice Specialist Randa Flowers - Illinois Departmnet of Juvenile Justice
  • Deputy Chris Philips - Kendall County Sheriff's Office

2020 Distinguished Service Award

  • Detective Jennifer Marcellis - Sandwich Police Department
  • Operations Manager Anna Krause - Child Advocacy Center of McHenry County
  • Officer William Pfalzgraf - Lasalle County Juvenile Detention Center

2019 Juvenile Officers of the Year

  • Officer Mark Dallas – Dixon Police Department
  • Detective Kendra DeRosa – Normal Police Department
  • Sergeant Stefan Bjes – Addison Police Department

2019 Distinguished Service Award

  • ASA Lisa Irvin – Williamson County State’s Attorney’s Office
  • Detective Tiffany Decker – Lake in the Hills Police Department
  • Detective Sheryl Collins – Cook County Sheriff’s Police Department

2018 Juvenile Officers of the Year

  • Officer Gina Walsh - Bartlett Police Department
  • Officer Dannae Pope - Carol Stream Police Department
  • Sergeant Michelle Asplund - McHenry County Sheriff's Office
  • Detective Kariann Schuster - Round Lake Police Department

2018 Distinguished Service Award

  • Ken Griffin - Retired
  • Sergeant Linda Hooten - Huntley Police Department
  • Chief Tina Filipiak - Will County State's Attorney's Office
  • Chief Claudia Kasten - Lake County State's Attorney's Office

2017 Juvenile Officers of the Year

  • Detective Matthew Thornton - Zion Police Department
  • Detective Nicholas Glynn - Carol Stream Police Department
  • Probation Officer Michelle Munn - DuPage County Juvenile Probation

2017 Distinguished Service Award

  • Richard Walsh - Juvenile Justice Commission
  • Sergeant Anthony Jacobsen - Wauconda Police Department

2016 Juvenile Officers of the Year

  • Officer Richard Witt - Mundelein Police Department
  • Officer Rebecca Foy - Vernon Hills Police Department
  • Sergeant Norm Johnson - Antioch Police Department

2016 Distinguished Service Award

  • Deputy Chief Robert Stegenga - South Holland Police Department
  • Investigator Dawn Gorman-Kenny - Orland Park Police Department
  • Officer Kevin Kaiser - Rantoul Police Department